Review: Pause to Rewind

  • Title: Pause to Rewind
  • Author: Aimee Alexander
  • Publisher: Kindle Edition
  • Released: October 17, 2014
  • Genre: Fiction
  • My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

*All opinions are my own

*May contain spoilers

Jenny Dempsey has exchanged life in the fast lane for freelance journalism and being a mum. She doesn’t look back. Why would she? A broken engagement to her fiancé, Dave. A falling-out with her parents. And a night in a hotel room best forgotten. Life is simple now. Jenny’s little boy, Charlie, is starting school, beginning to build a life independent from her. She needs to get her own back.

Life, though, has other plans. When Charlie’s diagnosed with leukaemia, Jenny is forced to confront her past and all that she has turned from. But she will do anything for Charlie.

A heartwarming story for fans of Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and Catherine Ryan Hyde.

I got this book as a freebie from Bookbub and I am so thankful I did. I loved this book. I didn’t want to put it down. This book took place in Dublin, Ireland but I had no problem relating to the main character, Jenny. Cancer is a subject that many people can relate to, but seeing a child go through it with such strength is heartwarming.

Although I was raised in a two parent household I found myself understanding the difficulty Jenny was going through as a single mom. The storytelling was wonderful. The details were placed in a way that although I wasnt surprised by Jenny and Simon ending up together I was truly happy about it. They belong together and they both deserved happiness after what their individual lives had put them through.

I would definitely recommend this book to women. This book would also make for a great book club read.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s